Who Is He To You? Is Coming Soon!

It’s almost here and I am so excited! As the publishing process for my debut novel is nearing its end, I am feeling a huge mix of emotions. After Monique May0909 011 (retouch web)dreaming about this for 20 years, it’s hard to believe that I am actually doing this and my manuscript will soon be a REAL book! I’m trying to keep myself from screaming as I type this.

Although I am extremely happy and excited, I can’t help but to feel somewhat nervous and just plain scared. I can’t help but to ask myself the terrifying question, “What if they don’t like me?”. Now don’t get me wrong, I do believe in myself and the talent I have been blessed with, but there is always that slight twinge of the fear of failure. In a sense I think it’s healthy to stay grounded and realistic about unfavorable outcomes. I use my fears to push me forward and I make sure I do all that I can to diminish those feelings. But no matter what, that feeling will be there until the moment of truth presents itself. Until then, I will answer the question, “Will they like me?”, with a loud and assured YES! Hey, I may only be convincing myself at this point, but I have to believe it more than anyone else right?


9 responses to “Who Is He To You? Is Coming Soon!

  1. Monique, I wanted to share one of my fave Bible Verses with you:

    Jeremiah 29:11
    For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

  2. Wow! Thanks for that one Tosha. Those are definitely words to live by and remember when times get tough. I do believe that this is what I was made for. Like this is what I was meant to do. So keeping that in mind, I know I will be successful (especially with supportive people like you in my corner)!

  3. Monique, your mother and I worked together for many years at BCBSM, and just think you are all grown up and beginning what looks like a promising writing career.

    I am not sure when your book will hit but I would like for you to come to my bookclub (PageTurners), which meets the second Saturday of each month, except during the Summer. I will forward a your blog information to my bookclub members and other literary friends.

    • Hi Jackie,

      Thank you for visiting my blog. I would be more than happy to meet with your book club. The book will be out late June/early July. I will be sure to keep you updated. Be sure to continue to visit the site for excerpts and other updates. Thanks again for the support!

      Monique D. Mensah

  4. Hey Monique-

    Congradulations on your new book…it sounds like it going to be on the Best Seller List. I admire you and anyone who takes the initiative to follow their dreams. I wish you the best of luck and I look forward to reading your book.

    Kewana

  5. Congrats on your moving forward with the book! You have been writing poems since you were young. I have no dought that you will succeed at what ever you put your mind to. Oh yea, good pictures; I like them. lastly, when you get paid let me grip the LAMBO!!!!!

    FATHERS DAY IS COMING AND YOU CAN GET DAD THE PERFECT GIFT AT A PERFECT BUY. @ http://www.PerfectBuy.Biz

    Shop our online store NOW!!! $10 Gift For all new registered Shopping Guest.

    • Thank you everyone for your words of encouragement! It means a lot in a time when I think I may lose my mind with all of the details of publishing and promoting!

      Monique D. Mensah

Leave a Reply

