WHO IS HE TO YOU? What’s It All About?

book_question_mark1Okay so, everyone I’ve come in contact with for at least ten seconds knows that I have written a book. If I have five extra seconds, they know that I am in the publishing process right now. These statements always spark one of two questions (or maybe two of two), “What is the book about” and “How did you do it”. The latter question is a loaded one that I will have to answer in steps on another post altogether. But the first one, “What is it about”, I think I can handle that here. In person,  I am usually frantically searching for the right words to put together in order to describe my book in a sentence or two. I know I have to get better at this, but for now, I just want to hand everyone the synopsis (so much easier)! Good thing we are online and all I have to do is copy and paste :-D. So here it is. Read the synopsis below and tell me what you think.

Who Is He To You: Synopsis


When love involves incest, self-mutilation, drug-addiction, and murder will you fight to hold on or will you gain the strength to escape before it’s too late?


Who Is He To You? is a fast-paced and thrilling novel that will captivate readers in a manner similar to the some of your favorite  bestsellers. However, Who Is He To You distinguishes itself from other popular books in its intelligent exploration of the sensitive and infrequently discussed issues of incest and self-mutilation in the African-American community. This novel will challenge readers’ conventional thinking and force the question, “Who is he and what is he to you?”


Simone, a shockingly beautiful teen, is on the downward spiral of destruction as she battles incest and self-hatred. Rapidly losing faith in a seemingly unresponsive God, she has no hope or refuge. She finds cutting to be the only way to relieve her pain and heal her gaping wounds. As she loses herself in uncertainty and mixed emotions, she realizes that she must do something to regain control of her life and restore her family back to normalcy and happiness. But Simone may be too late as unexpected events threaten to throw her dream of contentment far out of reach.


Due to her husband, Ross’, business acumen and affluence, Jessica lives the upscale lifestyle of a refined society matron. She strives to be the perfect wife, but without her husband, she would be nothing more than the abused stripper he rescued 16 years ago – and Ross never lets her forget it. When their marriage is threatened and it forces her to face her detestable past, Jessica vows to do whatever it takes to protect what she has rightfully earned, even if it means murder.


Ryan, a fiery and fashionable thirty-something, is quickly slipping into depression and prescription drug addiction. The only thing that keeps her hanging on to hope is the faint sound of wedding bells as her boyfriend, Anthony, artfully dangles the empty promise of marriage. As she watches their relationship dissolve, she finds that she must dig deep within herself for love and self-esteem. But when she digs, she uncovers much more than she bargained for. She finds herself on a mission of self-restoration while trying to save the life of someone she doesn’t even know.


As the shattered lives of three very different women collide, they find that they have one thing in common: they are all in a desperate fight to hang onto love. Will Simone, Jessica, and Ryan win the battle or will they find out who he is to you and be forced to retreat? Who Is He To You features quickly changing perspectives and takes place in posh suburban mansions, wild parties, trailer parks, exclusive private schools and strip clubs. It all comes together in a shocking finish where the main characters will experience injury, imprisonment and even death while crafting new lives from the ashes of their ruination.

7 responses to “WHO IS HE TO YOU? What’s It All About?

  1. MONIQUE!!!!! I love the site! I am so happy for you and this must be so exciting. The book sounds JUICY and I LOVE the subject matter (much love that I made the blogroll by the way, I appreciate the support) and I can’t wait until we reconnect with the bookclub R.E.A.L Women Read and go over your novel! I’m anxious…

    • Tosha, you couldn’t be any more supportive! Thank you! I am extremely excited and increasingly impatient. But I know the timing will be perfect when the book is finally released.

      I can’t wait to hear what the book club thinks. I already got a request from another book club too! And you know you guys are getting a shout out in the acknowledgments.

  2. Monique:

    Your book sounds very interesting! I can attest to the fact that the descriptions you provide on your main characters are very real and on point. You sound like you are describing situations about people I know or have met once upon a time. I can not wait for your book to come out. I think you have a winner! Believe in your talent, its okay, if you don’t no one else will! Best Wishes!

  3. WOOWWWWW! Amazing. Just simply amazing. “Who Is He To You” seems delicious!!! Just keep pressing on, your work is amazing. I love the sad young lady with the tear drop –just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

