The End is Near! Or is it Just the Beginning?

As I get closer and closer to holding the finished novel in my hands I am growing increasingly anxious. The publishing process has been the source of my overwhelming excitement as well as my anxiety, fear, and nerves. At this point I just can’t wait for it to be over and have the book in  my hand (and hopefully yours too). But then that will only mark the beginning of another journey altogether. Selling and promoting. My work is never done.

While I’m waiting on the cover, I’ve been attending events, talking about my book and passing out my promo cards. I’ve been getting an overwhelmingly positive response. I attended an event called “The Rebirth” on Friday night. It was a small crowd of artists: poets, photographers, rappers, etc. The host, Gerrard Allen made me get in front of the crowd and tell them about my book. I was so nervous! I stood there with my hands and legs shaking, talking to these people about my baby, my novel. I read the synopsis while Gerrard passed out my promo cards. It was nerve-wrecking, but it was great! The people were so positive and encouraging. They asked questions about the book and wanted to know where to get a copy. It felt good. I hope after that, it gets easier to approach people and speak about my work. It is a must do.

Right now . All I’m waiting on is the cover to go to print. I discussed design concepts with my designer and we agreed that the cover will be dramatic, eye-catching, and attention-grabbing. The cover is the most important part of the publishing process and I won’t settle for less than perfection. I can’t! I mean it’s the cover. The first thing people see when they are deciding whether to buy my book. Hopefully it will be done in a couple of days. Until then I will be impatiently waiting with my stomach in knots. As soon as I get the design I’ll post the cover for all to see. 🙂

2 responses to “The End is Near! Or is it Just the Beginning?

  1. Impressive. Professional and EYE catching. I can’t want for my copy. You know I’m a book collector and I need to add your book to my collection with the Authoress signature. Much love.

Leave a Reply

